Sue Ryder Calls for Inspirational Local Women to be Honoured in Awards


Diane Leigh from Cisco Systems (Corporate Ambassador), Katherine Grainger (Sports Ambassador), David Bower (Head of Marketing, Invesco Perpetual Headline sponsor), Sue Ryan (Creative Ambassador), Marsha Carey-Elms (Community Ambassador)

Sue Ryder’s 7th annual Women of Achievement Awards were launched last Thursday at Hotel du Vin in Henley.  The awards celebrate incredible women each year from Berks, Bucks or Oxon. Specially invited guests were treated to a glass of wine and canapés as they were asked to think about the women that inspire them.  Katherine Grainger who was the winner of the Sports Woman of the Year last year and is supporting the awards this year by becoming the Sport Ambassador in 2013 gave an inspirational speech at the launch.


Along with Katherine, three other previous winners have been appointed Ambassadors; Sue Ryan who founded the Henley Literary Festival 6 years ago is the Creative Ambassador; Marsha Carey-Elms  who was headteacher of Kendrick School for 19 years as Community Ambassador; and Diane Leigh, Corporate Ambassador who is an inspirational leader at Cisco who champions the engagement of Cisco employees in fundraising and volunteering events.


Lady Ryder was the original inspiration for creating this female-only awards ceremony to help raise awareness and funds for the local hospice care in Berks, Bucks and Oxon.


Vicky Smith, Regional Fundraiser for Sue Ryder, said: “We’re really excited about this year’s Women of Achievement Awards. Last year we had some amazing  nominations so we can’t wait to hear more inspirational stories. The Women of Achievement Awards ceremony is such an amazing evening that brings women of all different backgrounds together to celebrate their successes.”



Debra Mann and Mark Hawkes from Reading 107FM sponsors of the Young Achiever Category with Diane Leigh from Cisco Systems

“This fantastic event wouldn’t be possible without our sponsors for this year, so we would like to say a huge thank you to all of them. Our headline sponsor Invesco Perpetual; Charlton House, a trading name of CH&Co Catering Ltd; The Higgs Group, publishers of the Henley Standard; and Reading 107fm. We would also like to say thank you to Danesfield House for letting us use their venue as a beautiful backdrop for this year’s photography and Charlotte Snowden for her photography on the day.”


David Bower, European Marketing Director at Invesco Perpetual commented “ Invesco Perpetual is proud to continue its support for Sue Ryder.  As a large local employer, we believe it is important for us to do what we can to help support events such as the Women of Achievement Awards. The Nettlebed Hospice offers crucial care and assistance to individuals and their families during the most difficult times and initiatives such as this help ensure that this vital support continues to be available within our community.”


Robyn Jones, Founder of Charlton House said “We are pleased to be involved for another year with this local and worthwhile community charity. Good luck to all the nominees who are shortlisted for their generous nature.”


This year’s Women of Achievement Awards is taking place on 17 October at the Madjeski Stadium Hotel in Reading. To nominate a remarkable woman you know and celebrate with Sue Ryder please visit: or call for more information on 01491 641070.



Katie Cuthbert, Sue Ryder Regional Fundraising Manager with Robyn Jones and Tim Jones, owners of Charlton House Catering sponsors of the Corporate Awards

There are ten awards you can nominate for:


  • Business Woman of the Year
  • Corporate Social Responsibility Champion of the Year
  • Community Champion of the Year
  • Teacher of the Year
  • Creative Woman of the Year
  • Performer of the Year
  • Sports Woman of the Year
  • Coach of the Year
  • Young Achiever of the Year (under 30)
  • Lifetime Achiever Award


Nominations close on 16 August so make sure you don’t miss out. Remember if you nominate someone this year, who knows she may even become one of Sue Ryder’s Women of Achievement Ambassadors next year.