Henley Masters Regatta 2013


Despite the chilly start on Friday morning, the twentieth Henley Masters Regatta was held in the hottest conditions for many years. Competitors were subjected to temperatures of over 30o C as they raced 1000 metres from Temple Island to the finish at Upper Thames RC over the two days of the Regatta.


Henley Master Regatta, hosted by Upper Thames Rowing Club, has grown over its twenty years to be a highly respected event in Masters rowing. This year it attracted 360 crews from 9 countries representing 115 clubs. The crews were well supported by a large number of spectators who enjoyed the racing at 4-minute intervals.


Competitors as young as 27 years and those in their late seventies competed on Saturday in 51 finals in seven boat classes from eights to single sculls. The local clubs Upper Thames and Henley, failed to capitalize on their large entries with UTRC winning two finals in single sculls (David Hope in the 55 – 59 age range and Timothy Davies in the 65 – 69 age range, and Henley one final in C pairs.


Guy Pooley (Crabtree BC) progressed through two rounds to win the C single sculls (age range 43 – 49) against Rasche of Auriol Kensington by 2 lengths. Guy has represented GB in the Olympics at Barcelona in 1992 and in Atlanta in 1996 and has multiple HRR wins and appearances for Cambridge University in the Boat Race.


Rob Roy BC (of Cambridge) won the B Eights final (ages 36 – 43 years) beating Crabtree BC by ¾ lengths in a hard fought race in searing conditions. Crabtree BC included Tom Solesbury who represented GB in the 2012 London Olympics coming 5th in Quadruple sculls. Tom Solesbury and James Orme were also successful in the men’s A pairs (age range 27 – 35) for Crabtree BC beating Oporto University Portugal by 2 ½ lengths. James is a GB international oarsman.


Klaus Riekemann, winner of an Olympic gold for Germany in Rome 1960 was in the Minerva Bath Coxless Four that won the H category (70 -74 years)


Diane Sutherland, President of the Regatta, Dame Di Ellis DBE, Honorary President of British Rowing and Kate Burt, Chief Executive Officer of British Rowing presented the prizes.


Full results can be found on the HMR website http://www.henleymastersregatta.org.uk/