Henley Held at Local Rivals

Henley Mens 2s were up early and raring to go for their annual early start, away to Sonning 2s, thanks in part to Captain Price’s nutritional advice the night before. This was an eagerly anticipated game, not only a local derby, but also 3rd verses 4th in the league. With a new look defence and reverting to a 4-4-2 formation, Henley came into this game unbeaten and with by far the best defence in the league.

From the off, Henley pressed high up the field, with the three switching forwards of Harmer, Cheeseman and Jeremy Hughes-Burne forcing the Sonning defenders into handing possession back to Henley. For the majority of the first half, Henley dominated and were rarely out of the attacking half, confident at the back and switching the play between the flanks. Henley’s Achilles heal this year has been converting chances, and they were left to rue another spurned opportunity when Wood slipped Harmer in down the right who in turn found Hughes-Burne across the goal who instead of hitting first time, tried to control it and the opportunity was lost.

At half time and with the score even, Henley felt confident of going on to gain both the win and the three3 points which would take them above Sonning in the league. Again they started the half well, Draycott down the left making good ground and with Price and Boumphrey pulling the strings in the middle. However, clear- cut chances were few and far between. As the half wore on, Henley began to tire, but the defence marshaled by Clarke and backed up by Man of the Match, Austin, new right back Pollard and the mercurial left back talent, that is Roberts, were seeing off any danger. The few times Sonning did get through they had no chance of beating in-form keeper Foggoa, who has yet another clean sheet to his name.

So the game ended goalless and dropped Henley down to 5th in the league. Next up are the new league leaders and top scorers – Thame. Henley can take solace that they are now the only undefeated team in the league.

Henley: Ryan Foggoa, Alex Price, Guy Harmer, Ian Roberts, Jack Draycott, James Wood, Jeremy Hughes-Burne, John Boumphrey, Dan Austin, Terry Pollard, Jeremy Clarke, Cass Cheeseman