Hockey Club Honour Youngsters with Awards

Henley Hockey Club recently hosted their final training session of the season and awards ceremony.

The thriving youth section of Henley hockey has 300 members and given the lovely weather the majority including parents were present for the prizegiving.

There were awards for every age group which had been assessed by the team of voluntary coaches from the beginning of the season in September.  Despite the cold weather over the winter all the coaches were impressed by the high levels of enthusiasm and attendance.

The awards were presented by the Director of youth hockey Trish Heggie as well as the head coach of the age group.

U6 Awards

Player: Edward Cary and Annabel Cunliffe
Rising Star: James Broom, Kirsty Broom, Millie Green and Emily Bryan

U8 Awards
Team Player – Arlo Baker and Flo Hughes
Newcomer – Toby Lane and Sophie Broom
Most Improved – Zac Barrass, Jecca Bryan, Alex Woolfrey and Poppy Williams

U10 Awards

Player of the Year – Ernst Newbold and Kirsten Botha
Team Player of the Year  – Edward Bowyer and Lillian Graham
Newcomer of the Year  – Alfie Judge and Milini Shellani
Most Improved of the Year – Sam Baker and Lily Baker

U12 Awards

Player of the Year – Lauren Hilditch and Ben Proudfoot
Team Player of the Year – Rosie Richardson and Connor Botha
Newcomer of the Year – Katy Shaw and Bryn Williams
Most Improved Player of the Year – Izzy Holden and James Wakefield

U14 Awards

Player of the Year – Charlie Shaw and Anya Marsten
Team Player – Jo Selvester  and Caitlyn Swinburn
Newcomer of the Year – Louis Poundall
Most Improved Player – Oliver Judge and Charlie Mullins

U16 Awards

Player of the Year – Annie Williams
Team Player – Ailish James
Most Improved Player – Becky Bradbury  

Henley Hockey club also awarded scholarships across school years 4 to 7  to players who have shown considerable promise and they will all receive extra hockey training over the summer.