Football Rising Stars Net End of Season Awards

AFC Henley hosted their annual awards on Wednesday evening in Henley Town Hall for teams from U9s to U15s to celebrate their achievements on the pitch this season.

The club now boasts 400 members aged from U4 to U18  and 80+ adult volunteers.

Chair, Trevor Howell opened in the evening with a speech that gave thanks to local organisations who have given financial support that include Invesco Perpetual, Stuart Turner, Ashford Developments and Henley Round Table and to committee members, coaches and volunteers who have given their valuable time over the last season.  He also spoke about the new facilities and links with the club.  He said, “As you may know, AFC Henley and Henley Hockey Club have been negotiating with Henley Town Council and developers T. A. Fisher for the design of two new clubhouses, 8 changing rooms and 70 parking spaces on Jubilee Park to replace the existing facilities over the road. Plans are progressing well, and we expect permission to come through in the next few months. It is possible that construction will begin before the end of the year with completion in March 2020. Fingers crossed all round! Going on to talk about the links and partnerships with the club, Trevor said, “We are strengthening our partnership with Henley Town Football Club from next season. AFCH members at U18 will move automatically to adult football at Henley Town. We continue to have a close relationship with Reading Football Club and our twinning links with Henley’s twin town Leichlingen in Germany are as strong as ever.”

Mike Turner then hosted the awards ceremony giving out awards for most improved player, player of the season and top goal scorers.

Two Club Person awards were presented to Jon Francis and Phil Finch for their exceptional commitment to their respective teams and for their huge contribution to their development.  The Team of the Year was awarded to the U14 Henley Hurricanes who were division champions and also won their cup competition.

The full list of winners can be downloaded here


Leave a Comment

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.