Creative Talented Youngsters Recognised at HYF Competitions Award Ceremony

Talented youngsters in art, film and writing were awarded prizes in the Henley Youth Festival competitions on Sunday at the River & Rowing Museum.

Inspired by the theme of the festival, Friendship, there were many brightly coloured artworks including friends and hearts which had been on display as an exhibition over the weekend.

The entries for the writing competition were judge by local best-selling author Amanda Jennings.  The winners in the writing competition were Sebastian Sheldon from Valley Road School, Laila Webb from Peppard School and Millie Le Beigge from Gillotts School.  Amanda said that Millie’s “A letter to a friend” made her cry when she realised at the end that her friend was in fact her guide dog.”

The film competition was judged by Emma Langguth and Nadia Lamin with the best film being won by Juno Taylor a student at Gillotts and the best animation by Rupert House School Animation Club.

Local mural artist, Nicola Sutherland ran a schools mural competition for the first time this year. The winning school were Sacred Heart School.  Nicolas said that she liked that their mural showed the extended friendships the town has with our twin towns Falaise in France, Leichlingen in Germany, Bled in Slovenia and friendship association with Borama in Somalia.

The art competition entries were judged by artist Michelle Frith.  Michelle comment how excellent all the entries were.  Joshua Drummond who won the 2D award in the 9-11 years category with his picture ‘Man’s Best Friend’.  Michelle said, “The standard of the painting was one of GCSE level student.” The winners in the art competition were:

2D Art

3-6 Years
Amelie Baldwin – St Mary’s

7-8 Years
Matilda Lait/ Zara Maloney – Rupert House

9-11 Years
Joshua Drummond – Valley Road School

11-14 Years
Izzy Swanwick – Gillotts School

15-18 Years
Savannah Mutnikas – Shiplake College

3D Primary
Anya McGinn – Trinity
3D Secondary
Wilfred Singer – Gillotts School

A full list of art winners can be download here.