Henley 2013 Drama Festival Results

dramaThe 42nd Drama Festival took place between 6-11 May 2013. 16 theatrical groups battled it out for the coveted top prizes as they performed their one-act plays before an adjudicator from the Guild of Drama. The prizes were awarded by David Henson, adjudicator from The Guild of Drama Adjudicators and presented by Henry Hawes, local Regional Representative of the National Operatic and Dramatic Association. The winners of the awards are detailed below.  Congratulations to HAODS and Henley Players for winning awards.

Open – Henley Drama Award (Overall 1st prize)

Oxford Theatre Guild B for Moving Scenes


Open –Runner-up – Weatherhead Award

Henley Amateur  Operatic and Dramatic Society  (HAODS)  for World Without Memory


All Women – Charlotte Thomas Award

Marist Senior School for an adaptation based on The Prime of Miss Brodie


Senior Youth – Reg Judd Award

The Young Theatre for No Picnic


Best Original Play –  John Clive-Spencer Memorial Award

Oxford Theatre Guild B for Moving Scenes


Best Stage Presentation – Sharp Award

Oxford Theatre Guild  A for Trifles


Best Actor – Henley Standard Award

Richard Evans (HAODS World Without Memory)


Best Actress- Hannen Award

Angharad Jones (HAODS World Without Memory)


Best Supporting Role – Clive-Spencer Award

Jack Taylor (Oxford Theatre Guild B Moving Scenes)


Best Performance Class III – Young Award (Senior Youth)           

Tom McGrath (Young Theatre No Picnic)


 Adjudicator  –  Jean Sutherland Memorial Award

Oxford Theatre Guild B for direction of Moving Scenes


Diamond Shield  – Magic Moment Award

Frank Auger (Henley Players Say Something Happened)