BBC Young Musician to Play at Symphony Orchestra Concert

Henley Symphony Orchestra is delighted to open its 47th season by welcoming Callum Smart as soloist in Bruch’s famous Violin Concerto, loved for its dramatic solo theme and contrasting orchestral rhythms on Sunday 6 November at Reading Concert Hall at 4.00pm.

Callum attracted wide public attention at the age of thirteen having won the strings category of the 2010 BBC Young Musicians’ Competition. He began violin studies when he was 6 and  currently studies in Indiana as the recipient of a Premier Young Artist’s award. Solo performances with major orchestras include the Philharmonia and the European Union Chamber orchestra.  In October he played this concerto as soloist with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra. Jill from the HSO said, “We are very excited to have Callum as our soloist.”

The concerto is followed by Dvorák’s most fascinating Symphony No. 7, sub-titled “From Sad Years”, and subsequently sometimes dubbed “The Tragic”. The finale, however, comes to a triumphant conclusion. Nielsen’s Helios Overture, composed in Athens and depicting the sun rising majestically over the Aegean Sea, completes the programme in the glorious acoustics of Reading Concert Hall.

Tickets available on 01235 859210 or



Leave a Comment

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *