Town Medals Awarded


Photo (from left to right) Deputy Mayor, Councillor Stefan Gawrysiak, Mr Ian McGaw, The Mayor, Councillor Mrs Elizabeth Hodgkin, Mr Chris Boothroyd

The Annual Town Medal awards ceremony took place last night (Wednesday 6th March) in the Council Chamber of the Town Hall.  This year saw Mr Chris Boothroyd and Mr Ian McGaw as the two members of the community selected by the Council to receive this prestigious award for the 2012/2013 Municipal year.

Mr Boothroyd had a very successful personal rowing career before turning his talents to coaching Junior Rowing.  He has been Henley Rowing Clubs Chief Junior Coach for many years, consistently producing medal winning crews.  Having worked quietly and tirelessly for the community over the past 30 years he will continue to coach individual crews to pass on his considerable knowledge and experience.  Mr Boothroyd was awarded the medal for dedication to coaching local rowing and consistent success as one of the top rowing coaches in the country.

Mr McGaw is a long standing member of the local Henley Bridge Rotary Club and undertakes a large amount organization work on a local voluntary level.  He has organized the Henley Half Marathon for over 10 years and helped raised more than £180,000.00 for local charities.  He also acts as a Governor for Henley college and is involved with heavily with Henley CAB.  Mr McGaw has always been very keen on Rugby, is a member of Henley Rugby Club and is an active member of Henley Rugby Club Committee.